Back Issue Blog: The Way She Wore – Oscar Gowns 2010

8 Mar

Almost as much fun as watching the Academy Awards on TV is checking out the gowns on the red carpet (OK, “more fun than”). While nobody topped hall of famers Cher or Bjork as worst-dressed of all time space and dimension, there were some haut-hideous dresses that should definitely have stayed in the closet. But first, let’s play nice…

BEST-DRESSED WOMEN OSCARS 2010

Kate Winslet in Yves St. Laurent. I love how well-fitted this gown is, and the champale silver color is a perfect accent to her golden hair and alabaster skin without washout. I loved her sleek old-Hollywood Grace Kelly hair and her understated accessories. Classy, refined and smooth.

Kathryn Bigelow in Yves St. Laurent. Another gorgeously cool, creamy metallic gown fitted like a glove to some amazing curves. Stylish, tasteful and polished.

Carey Mulligan in playful Prada. One of the few black dresses on parade last night, though black never goes out of style. There was kind of an edgy charm-bracelet feel to the bodice, with its Swarovski flowers, and cutlery and scissor charms worked into the detail. I really liked her Prada shoes, and her short Jean Sebring ‘do.

Honorable mention: Sandra Bullock looking smart in meticulously beaded Marchesa.

But Wait…! There’s more
= = =

WORST-DRESSED WOMEN OSCARS 2010

Jennifer Lopez in Armani Prive. No reprieve for this sculpted shame. I’ve never really liked J-Lo’s sense of style but this one is among the all-time lows.

Vera Farmiga in Marchesa. Very much IN Marchesa, as she’s practically engulfed in this raspberry frill-fest that would look better at a Flamenco Dancer’s convention than the Oscars.

Charlize Theron in Cinnabon… um, I mean Dior.

It was pretty horrible, but I guess we can be thankful Babs didn’t trot this old CHESTnut onto the red carpet…

Dishonorable mention: Sarah Jessica Parker looking skeletal in shapeless Chanel.

Best article on the dresses:

This one shows the actresses in the dresses, juxtaposed with pictures of the original dresses on runway models

= = =

Most Memorable Moments

Oscar hosts Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin. They were pretty funny, but a little too routine. I wish they’d have Hugh Jackman back. Also, I think Tina Fey and Amy Sedaris would be good hosts.

Jeff Bridges wins! My favorite Oscar moment.

Horror montage: Mixed on this. I like the idea of a horror montage (and Roger Corman getting an Honorary Oscar!), but not the execution (so to speak).

Ben Stiller presenting Best Makeup. I love Ben Stiller, so I loved this.

Best photo of the evening! James Cameron going in for a hug, but with a mock-choke. Cute.

Stuff I didn’t like: Sean Penn (can anyone tell me what he was muttering about?), Elinor Burkett pulling a Kanye, and The Academy for forgetting Farrah.

Lastly, here’s my Twitter feed from last night. I didn’t do nearly as much as some others, but it was really fun to follow along with my friends (some of whom were at the ceremonies) and add my .02

7 Responses to “Back Issue Blog: The Way She Wore – Oscar Gowns 2010”

  1. TerrenceK March 8, 2010 at 2:07 PM #

    Since I was unable to view the show, I did replay particular acceptance speeches (Bigelow, Bridges, Bullock) – Bridges’ acceptance speech was one of the best, heartfelt, down-to-Earth I’ve ever seen. (Plus I’ve been a major fan of his, his father Lloyd and brother Beau, since childhood). I guess I must see CRAZY HEART now!

    Though I ain’t the fashion guru, I agree with your assessments above. What the hell was Vera Farmiga thinking?

    I REALLY wish I could’ve seen this “horror tribute” montage. Hopefully someone is able to put this up on YouTube soon. I wanna join in on the mixed reactions! ;-p

    • stacilaynewilson March 8, 2010 at 4:26 PM #

      That’s a lot of B’s in the winners circle, isn’t it?

  2. TerrenceK March 8, 2010 at 5:10 PM #

    I was just thinking that as I typed that out!

  3. Theresa March 8, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

    Liked your review of the oscars’ “finer” points. I was obsessed with Carey Mulligan’s shoes the whole show. So fierce! Damn think that is the first time I ever used that before. Anyway did you catch Kristen Stewart almost having a panic attack on stage? I was feeling bad for her, she could barely say her lines and sort of coughed/choked during one point.

    • stacilaynewilson March 8, 2010 at 7:32 PM #

      I’m not sure if she was nervous, but she always seems ill at ease on red carpets, at press conferences, etc. I wonder why? I mean, you’d think she’d be used to it by now having been an actor from such a young age (I think she was 12 when she did Panic Room). At any rate, I am really looking forward to seeing her as Joan Jett in the RUNAWAYS movie – great casting!

  4. Pamela Mahabeer March 8, 2010 at 9:27 PM #

    Thanks, Ms. SLW for vocalizing what those of us are thinking but are too ineloquent (is that a word?) to say. Spot on as usual!

  5. Alisha Seaton March 9, 2010 at 7:08 PM #

    Ditto on Pamela’s statement. I couldn’t have said “Cinnabon” better myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

