Back Issue Blog: Sex And The City 2, Bangin’ & Other Girly Perversions

25 May

One of my favorite moments from the original Sex And The City series.

“Oh my gawd! She’s FASHION ROADKILL!!”

I’ve been reading about red carpet premiere of the second movie this morning, and I’ve gotta say, I’m bummed I couldn’t cover it. (They had a few premieres, I think — Cannes, London, New York City… none in L.A., which is actually the perfect place for those shallow sisters. [Then again, perhaps they’re more Warhol’esque in their deep superficiality]) I love all their dresses from last night, but if I had to pick one it would be… hm… Kim Cattrall’s. It’s best for the breasts, with some cleavage and oomph.

Although I do much prefer the TV series (here’s a great review at Amazon going season-by-season and why the show worked so well over its six year run), it’s fun to see the ladies on the big screen.

For the first movie, my friend Annette had the inside track at Warner Brothers, so we got to see the movie on the lot. We dressed accordingly (though we had Starbucks, not Cosmos, before) and I presented Annette with a new pair of shoes to commemorate the occasion so we’d both be in Steve Madden. I think I’ll wear another pair of Steve Maddens for tomorrow’s screening — as for Annette, well, I do have something in mind for her. We will take photos!

Here’s a couple of snaps of us from the WB Lot employee screening of the first film.

Photobucket

Photobucket

But Wait… There’s More!

Speaking of Annette, I think I have more photos with her than any of my other friends. Enzo was saying I should find them all, from over the years, and do an album. There are probably a hundred. I don’t have that kind of time… but, here are some from THIS year!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve been doing my usual bargain-hunting between all my freelance work (still with SyFy, Horror.com, TV-Wire, AOL, et al) and exciting hobbies (photography). I have found some great deals on Urban Decay makeup, vintage clothing, and sexy shoes. Here’re some visuals:

= = =

MAKEUP

These were a bargain on eBay because the makeup was cracked inside the containers; I just transferred the contents to another container and they’re perfectly fine. I saved at least $50.

Photobucket

Here’s some of the makeup jobs I’ve done, using those colors (blues, plums, and russets)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

= = =

STYLE

As most of my friends already know, I decided to change my hair to a less-sophisticated, but IMO, cuter and more fun hairstyle: Bangs. I haven’t had bangs since I was 5. (Technically, I did try whispy bangs several years ago, and they only lasted a week — I was heavier and so my face was fatter then, and it was NOT a flattering style for me.)

Anyway, I rather like them!

Photobucket

Photobucket

= = =

CLOTHING

I don’t have any photos of it yet, but my best find lately has been a blue-hued long, formal Calvin Klein gown that’s absolutely stunning. I spent a tad more on it than I normally do on a dress and I had to get it altered to fit me, but it’s worth it even if I only use it for one photo shoot (hopefully, that’ll happen next week outside, when the weather is a little better — and maybe I’ve lost 2 more pounds!).

However, I have lots of other cool, unusual and fun finds to share. I haven’t worn some of them, as of yet — like these two. The first one is an authentic 70s gown with an attached cape-let. I have never seen anything quite like it. It’s so unique. I bought it online, so hopefully it will look good on me. The other one is a new style that I thought was neat because it embodies retro and fun with the polka dots, but the subdued colors also channel a classic feel. I tried it on, and it’s really nice — especially with a wide black belt. I just haven’t had the opportunity to wear it out yet.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I found some of the clothes below at Ross (shockingly cheap… like, that mod-style orange jacket was SRP $129, marked down to $11.99) and at the wonderful VARGA Store at Hollywood & Highland. I liked the go-go girl style sheath dress (pictured below), but I didn’t buy it because too many of the spangles were missing.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I also found an eBay seller out of China with good deals on atypical graphic dresses. Graphic clothing is very tricky (both in how it’s made, and how it’s worn), but I do adore these two I got:

Photobucket

Photobucket

= = =

SHOES & PURSE

This is a new purse I got; I was a little hesitant because the rose’s edges are formed by a zipper… but no far, it hasn’t snagged any of my nylons or anything. The shoes, I’ve had for a couple of years, but only worn a couple of times because they’re very difficult to pair up. They actually look good with jeans… but I don’t look very good in jeans, so therein lies a couture conundrum.

Photobucket

This is my latest favorite pair of shoes. Orange and golds are in fashion right now, and I love them… but I must admit, even I had a little trouble walking in these. They’re pretty steep… I hope this isn’t an indication that platforms are on their way out of style again!

Photobucket

I did a gallery on my Facebook, trying to show as many of my shoes as I could… here’s an overview.

Photobucket

= = =

In closing, just a few snapshots of a Christie’s Auction catalogue I came across when I was packing up my books for storage. Love the Old Hollywood glamour!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

One Response to “Back Issue Blog: Sex And The City 2, Bangin’ & Other Girly Perversions”

  1. Alisa Burket May 27, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    You are my fashion mama!

Leave a Reply

