Back Issue Blog: Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!

29 May

If you were to give me a multiple choice as what sort of gender-group of strangers I’d rather spend 5 hours with, I’d probably pick gay men first, then men, and finally women. I was raised by a divorced mom, most of my formative friendships were with females, and it’s true that my longest-lasting most loyal chums are chicks, BUT… in the course of my work and in my profession, I gravitate more towards men. For me, males are just easier to talk to and more easygoing in general.

But this past week has reminded me how lovely ladies can be.

I’ve spent a fair bit of time with my dear Annette, she being recently released from her prison of editing and intense deadlines. She took part in my upcoming (first professional) photographic series, FRIENDS AT THE FRIENDSHIP BELL, plus she modeled for me as the perfectly vixenish Little Red Riding Hood and did an outstanding job.

A few days later, we got to continue in our Sex And The City tradition (we loved the series together, and we saw the first movie at her Warner Bros., employee screening) by checking out SATC2 at the Arclight. I got a mani-pedi and Annette broke out the Manolo Blahniks in anticipation of the occasion. For us, it’s all about the shoes, but I have noticed most of the articles about the sequel have been about the clothes. That’s OK — I can do clothes, too.

Photobucket

I loved this red & white number (reminiscent of Jack and Meg, maybe?) Charlotte wore.

Photobucket

This was a silly scene (the four miss-kateers singing I Am Woman at a karaoke bar? Really?) but I covet the couture.

Interview with the Costume designer Patricia Field [L.A. Times]

Patricia Field Walks Us Through The ‘Sex And The City 2’ Wardrobe, Reveals Actual Cost [Huffington Post]

Photos of everyone’s threads at the red carpet premiere [Huffington Post]

I was going to review the movie (we did see it at the all-media), but I didn’t. Too many other deadlines and such. But here is Annette’s Fan Review on Facebook.

Photobucket

iPhone pics snapped for Twitter right before the screening commenced!

…And this is what led up to readying myself for my big (toe) closeup

Photobucket

Photobucket

…Here’re our Cheshire grins!

Photobucket

= = =

But Wait… There’s More!

Yesterday, I got an unexpected visit from a lifelong female friend of mine, Tiffini, who was visiting from Utah. She’s here to see family, so I am grateful she made the time to not only share some lemon cheesecake with me, but also to be a last-minute / last-person in my FRIENDS AT THE FRIENDSHIP BELL photo series! I am so lucky. It’s a really broad mix of friend photos, now — some I’ve known since childhood (Tiff), some I’ve only known for a year (Brian), some in my profession (Jen), some not (Tony), and so on.

Photobucket

Adding to my week of pulchritude, Tiffini brought along her 10-year old daughter Pamela and a friend of hers from college, Marnie. We all had fun in the San Pedro sun taking pictures, hanging out at the boardwalk, and enjoying some rather forbidden (for me, anyway) foods.

Photobucket

= = =

It all comes back to my first paragraph now, with the account of my very first estrogen-infused Buzz Girls event.

I’d heard of TBG here and there, but wasn’t sure what to expect when I was selected to attend one of their exclusive fetes on behalf of AOL Careers. I was there as a journalist to interview Alice In Wonderland film producer Jennifer Todd, but I was treated just like “one of the [buzz] girls” as I was welcomed to the fabulous-fold, chick-cliquey, sit-down feast and celebration of “muchness” (an empowering theme in the Alice in Wonderland movie, which is out on DVD on Tuesday).

Next week, my official interviews and reports will be published via AOL Careers and Buzzine’s BuzzScene photo feature. But for now, here’s a little inside look at my evening at The Viceroy.

I’ve been interviewing Oscar winners and rock stars for nearly 10 years now, so not much rattles me. But I must confess: the thought of spending time with a party-full of intelligent, super-successful, high-powered females (“no boys allowed!”) was a little intimidating.

Fortunately, my trepidation was short-lived as I was welcomed warmly by Disney DVD publicist (Maria Barraza), the kind and graceful Jennifer Todd, bodacious Buzz Girl Heather Hope Allison, the dazzling duo of Traci Hines and Lisa Fabio (True Enchantment Entertainment), and the fantastic women I got to meet, greet, and dine with (Grammys go-to gal Beverly Jackson, producer Shana Stein, and actress Erin Cardillo each made outstanding impressions).

The evening began with a drive to the Santa Monica beach, to the Viceroy Hotel. As anyone who knows me knows, I am an architecture and décor nut — so, arriving early and taking the time to explore those swanky digs was a real treat. I’d never been there before, but spotted decorator Kelly Wearstler singular style the instant I walked through the glass doors and saw the eclectic yet dynamic and elegant layout. Here are a few photos showing how the evening unfolded…

I arrived in daylight, departed by moonlight. Here’s the lobby and poolside at around 6, plus some pre-party glimpses

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Eventually, the people began to trickle in. I was privy to the setting up of the potions, Traci and Lisa’s prep and transformation into the White Queen and the Mad Hatter, did my interview with Jennifer, mingled as the guests arrived, then took my place (as indicated by a marked magic potion) at the table, and enjoyed the evening until a flawless full moon greeted me outside in the valet area.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

