Back Issue Blog: Sugar & Splice & Everything Nice

3 Jun

Well, not *everything* is nice, but I’m putting it all in this-here blog-in-blender. I try to uni-categorize and segregate my blogs sometimes, really I do… but I’m guess my writing recipes will always be more goulash than nouvelle cuisine. As per usual, I have approximately 1,000,000 things to do on my To-Do List, and they range from the mundane to the marvelous. I’ve been doing many marvelous things lately, some of which I’ve touched on already — like my Sci-Fi & Scary Sunday, which I relayed in the form of a photologue on Facebook: HERE IS THE LINK. Check it out soon if you can, because I’ll probably delete the album in a week or so.

Here’s info on the Splice TV junket. SyFy Channel will be running their video online momentarily, but Horror.com already has theirs up. SEE THE HORROR.COM SPLICE JUNKET HERE.

Photobucket

I took some screencaps from the video, and so here’s my recap of what’s not on-camera. Adrien Brody was as nice as ever; I first interviewed him in New York for King Kong and have talked to him quite a few times since. In fact, he’s all over my stuff lately (so to speak) — especially in print, with a L’Ecran Fantastique double cover story this month on Splice and Predators, and then another cover story of Part Two of my visit to the set of Predators in Austin. (HERE’S ANOTHER LOOK AT THAT)

Photobucket

Adrien mentioned he liked my streaks, and then said he tried that once himself. I said, “Oh, really?” And I completely forgot, until my friend Terrence Kelsey reminded me that I even did a whole blog on “Brody’s Blue” last spring! Wow. If it weren’t for short-term memory, I’d have none at all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

But Wait… There’s More!

Photobucket

Sarah Polley was sweet, but in a big rush so there wasn’t a lot of time for chit-chat before and after the interview. She’s excellent in Splice, so it was a pleasure, anyway — I’ve been talking to her for so long (since No Such Thing and Dawn of the Dead), and her body of work is so strong (My Life Without Me, The Weight of Water) it’s easy to forget she is only just 30.

Photobucket

Photobucket

= = =

Splice Red Carpet Premiere

Photobucket

So, last night was the red carpet premiere for Splice. It was a kind of low-key affair (compared to, say, the cluster-f that was Prince of Persia’s premiere last week… and which was in the rain, no less) — and I enjoyed it. I saw some friends and friends-of-friends (Darren Bousman, Joe Dante, Guillermo del Toro) and enjoyed meeting some new people (especially David Hewlett, who was so funny and good-natured even when I put my high-heel in my mouth and asked, ‘So, did you see Cube?’ Ha! Of course, he is IN that movie… to my credit, though, I did remember him in Nothing [kinda hard not to…) and Cypher, and of course, Splice.

Video is going to the lovely SyFy.com and the amazing Horror.com of course, but for now I can tide you over with some pictures and recollections. [THIS JUST IN! Splice Red Carpet Premiere posted at Horror.com]

Courtney Love, Shia Le Beouf and Joe Dante should all start a super band and call it THE HOLES. Actually, I was talking to Joe (again) about Hole, or rather; “The” Hole (he probably wants to avoid it being dubbed Joe Dante’s Hole, so it’ll never be double-billed at the New Bev with John Waters’ Pecker)

Photobucket

David Hewlitt was in Nothing. Too bad he did also do Nowhere, with Greg Araki. Ah, well… there’s always hope for the future when somebody makes David Shannon’s book series “No, David!” into a feature film. Perhaps Fincher will direct. And Mamet will write.

Photobucket

I got lucky because the reporter in front of me asked Adrien a really stupid personal question, so I got his time and my time. (I am so thankful I don’t have to ask gossipy questions! I’d quit my profession and do something else, if that’s all that was left to me.)

Photobucket

Here’re a couple of shots of Vincenzo Natali. Look at the one where I got all arty, shooting his reflection in the stanchion. (Yeah, I was just killing time…)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Since we’re in time-killing mode anyway, here are some more shots and thoughts having nothing to with Splice from last night — a few of the Chinese Theater (which I never tire of photographing, inside and out), some contrails in the sky, and me seeing how my feet fit with Pola Negri’s. My feet are STILL the smallest! (Didn’t think they would be; just eyeballing her footprint, I was thinking, “Man, those are some tiny tootsies.”) I found a few pics of Pola Negri online, so here they are (you know how she fits in with VALENTINO, I’m sure).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I wish there was a Sid Vicious Chinese Theater, too. Well, perhaps there is, in a Fringe-like alternate universe.

Photobucket

Back to the premiere… and the backs of necks. I thought Delphine’s nape and chignon looked quite elegant, so I zoomed in.

Photobucket

Perhaps I’m influenced by the book I’m currently, reading, EXTREME BEAUTY. It’s really pretty great (awe-inspiring archival museum and fashion photos, with detailed text) and the first chapter is on elongation and celebration of the neck in the forms of physical stretching, adorning with various collars, and ways of posing. Here’s a look at the book cover — and don’t ask me why there’s a dime on my nightstand; the tooth fairy hasn’t been here in years.

Photobucket

And here’s more of Delphine. Either she or her stylist has impeccable taste.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Her snazzy shoes were Sonyia Rykiel… I didn’t ask about the tattoos, but I’m guessing Fisherman’s Wharf, Pier 39.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Gemma’s holding Delphine’s Dren-doll for her. Cute!

Photobucket

Lastly here are some pics of yours truly. I was feeling ugly an exhausted last night, so I bundled up inasmuch as I can — long pants, a boxy coat, sunglasses, bangs plastered down to my eyes — and then got in front of cameras. Why I’m posting the pics, well… they’re funny. And I crave attention.

I like this one: I am sure she’s perfectly lovely, but this pic tickles because the chick behind me looks like an escaped inmate about to pounce and conduct evil experiments inspired by SPLICE!

Photobucket

And this: “It’s a bird, it’s a plane… it’s SUPERDREN!”

Photobucket

This is a coat and silk slacks I got in San Fran earlier this year.

Photobucket

OK, enough of me.

More on Vincenzo Natali coming soon to Horror.com — he was kind enough to grant me a phone interview to talk about some of his upcoming projects. I appreciate that, because I hate to ask about off-topic things at red carpets: it seems disrespectful to the film at hand. It’s like, “Yeah, this is nice. But what are you doing next?”

All shall be revealed in the interview (probably tomorrow), but we were talking about Tunnels and also Highrise, and how self-contained worlds can be such goldmines of inspiration.

He brought up catacombs, which I’ve always found interesting (so much so, in fact, that I put some in Dark Lullaby — which, btw, I just found out is in a Kindle edition!) but I have yet to visit any. When I was in Paris, we didn’t have enough time to see their famed catacombs (I chose instead, and not without regret, to roam Pere Lachaise and The Louvres). I’ve also never been to the underground cities in Seattle or Toronto, though I’ve wanted to. I guess I’m more an above-ground kinda gal. (In fact, I’ve been on a tower-binge lately… more on that later.)

Back to contained spaces. So, as he was telling me about Highrise (I refuse to spell it High Rise, because then that breaks the perfect Natali record of one-word movie titles), I kept thinking about Skyscraper and Diehard 3 (painful… Anna Nicole Willis). I am sure his will be better than those. He said it’s based on a J.G. Ballard novel (which I haven’t read, but is promising nonetheless).

On this subject, I’m kind of surprised David (“Rambo”) Morrell’s CREEPERS novel hasn’t been made into a movie yet. I became friendly with David and his daughter/publicist Susie when I was the Guide to Horror & Suspense at About.com a few years back, and we did giveaways and promos on that book… it’s really a cool concept, and quite scary. CREEPERS is about urban treasure hunters who plumb the depths of old and abandoned buildings. This one is about a group of stealing spelunkers who plunder a historical hotel-wreck and run afoul of bad things inside.

Here is in the entire novel online at Google Books.

Back to buildings, in general. Someday I will gather together and post all of my favorite architectural photography. Or maybe the overwhelming task will be reason enough to start all over again and go back to some of my favorite cities: Chicago, Toronto and Manhattan to start… then I’ll start working on Europe and Asia! I so want to see Gehry’s Dancing House with my own eyes, and now also the Petronas Twin Towers, which just slipped into my consciousness the other night while I was watching a TV show about daredevils. They were doing a piece on the French Spiderman, Alain Robert… but I didn’t care so much about him as the fabulous architecture he was scaling! So very, very gorgeous.

Photobucket

= = =
And speaking of gorgeous —

Here is another more vintage pinup mag featuring my mom which turned up on eBay. (I’m still trying to collect the whole set… bidding on one now, of her wearing a long, silly fall.)

Photobucket

Photobucket

= = =
Fashion Finds!

Still no time to stop down and have pics taken in my newest gowns, but I couldn’t resist trying this one on the instant it arrived in the mail. It’s a vintage 70s maxi with a sewn-in cape’let. I have never seen anything quite like it. So even though it’s hardly practical, I love it and am glad I bought it.

Photobucket

I also have another (new) maxi dress (this coming from the woman who generally dislikes long dresses and pants, and that’s all I’m wearing in this blog!) that’s a really neat blue-grey and will be perfect for my photo shoot on the rocks. In the meantime, I am taking pictures of OTHER people “on the rocks” for my next exhibition of photography (“Friends at the Friendship Bell” is coming soon — can’t wait to unveil it for everyone!).

Photobucket

Photobucket

= = =
No news on shoes. I think it’s time for me to buy some new ones, so I’ll have something to blog about.

Photobucket

= = =
Other stuff

I’ve been reading a lot lately (which means the DVDs and screeners are piling up… something’s gotta give). Books, yes, (mainly ones I’m getting on assignment through AOL) but also blogs. Trying to keep up with friends’ blogs is enough (are you thinking the same thing, right now?) but also the ones I just flat out enjoy reading, like Tom DiCillo’s. For his, I even manage to chime in every once in a while.

Photobucket

Photobucket

HERE IS THE LINK TO TOM’S BLOG

I’m also reading Bill Malone’s script for his (hopefully) next film, and I love it. It’s very Bill, complete with the surreal sequences and strange sexiness.  Oh, and guess what? The phenominal PARASOMNIA is finally out on DVD next month!

Photobucket

So, that’s four open books I’ve got going right now (Tom’s blog, Bill’s script, Extreme Beauty, and Francesco Clark’s memoir Walking Papers). I tried to read Russell Brand’s My Booky Wook but I just couldn’t get into it (I hope Get Him To The Greek is good! I had to miss the screening for the Splice premiere. My friend Jimmy Hemphill said it was the best comedy of the year, so…).

As for my own stuff, well, there’s the L’Ecran Fantastique magazine pieces, plus several articles at AOL Careers (Jennifer Todd on Muchness, and Pat Brown on profiling serial killers are the most-popular ones), Buzzine and Horror.com.

3 Responses to “Back Issue Blog: Sugar & Splice & Everything Nice”

  1. stacilaynewilson June 5, 2010 at 1:45 PM #

    Here’s my more in-depth interview with Vincenzo Natali. It’s pretty funny, he’s got quite the sense of humor

    http://www.horror.com/php/article-3196-1.html

    🙂

    Staci

  2. Ward P June 14, 2010 at 10:29 AM #

    Good stuff as always, Stace. Gotta go show my support for “Splice” before it gets chased out of town. I’ve heard good things from those I trust.:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stepping Out on the Red Carpet « I Dress, Therefore I Blog - June 29, 2010

    […] events lately have been recently covered (Delphine Chanéac in her Sonyia Rykiel strappies for Splice, and recently-wed Megan Fox in Brian Atwood ‘Donna’ pumps for Jonah Hex), and so I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

