Old Movies – Renewed Interest

16 Jun

As usual, I’ve been watching a ton of movies. It’s great to get paid to watch movies (or rather, write about them), but lately I’ve been indulging in a bunch of classics just for fun. I’ve checked out a few more from my Forbidden Hollywood DVD Collection (30s), and several from the 40s with drop-dead gorgeous dames and dresses. I took screenshots of a few as I watching, plus some 70s kitsch for balance.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Bonnie’s Kids is from 1971 and stars Playboy Bunny Tiffany Bowling. It’s notable, because it’s the feature debut of Arthur Marks, who also did The Roommates and worked on Wonder Women and The Centerfold Girls — all of those movies have super-funky fashions, but probably the most interesting surprise from Bonnie’s Kids was the small role played by Sharon Gless (I think she’s still great now, on the series Burn Notice).

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket

But Wait… There’s More!

I also watched The Gay Deceivers, from 1969… wow. Those clothes are really hideous! But entertaining nonetheless.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Two of the best movies I saw were from 1953 — an espionage and crime drama called Pickup on South Street, and a classic-style mystery called Dangerous Crossing. On the latter, the costumes were done by Renie Conley (he won the Oscar for Cleopatra) and they are s-t-u-n-n-i-n-g! Jeanne Craine’s gowns are dreamy, and there’s this one scene where she’s wearing these wagon-wheel round diamond earrings like nothing I’ve even seen before… I had my iPhone handy, so now you can see them too….

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket

I also enjoyed seeing Black Angel (1946) for the first time. The shoulder pads are soooo extreme! Great stuff, though. The femme fetale in the film is played by Constance Dowling, and she was so pretty. This picture isn’t from the film, but I love her playsuit. (Perhaps influenced by this, I just bought my own first playsuit yesterday!)

Photobucket
Photobucket
I saw scenes from a Jean Harlow movie called Redheaded Woman, which was put out in the 30s (I think; maybe late 20s) and it’s really interesting to see her with darker hair. I also found this image of the book upon which the film is based — I doubt this is the original cover, because it looks too much like Harlow, but it’s cool. I should see if I can find a copy. I’ll draw a blue streak on it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket
Lastly, two random pics showing awesome vintage clothing… the first one is a picture I took from a movie I was watching and now for the life of me can’t remember the name of the movie. But I loved this ultra deco dress!

Photobucket

The second picture is of Gregg Toland, one of the great cinematographers of all time. (He shot the aforementioned Black Angel, but also Citizen Kane and a zillion other amazing eye-candies.) This pic is of him and his wife Helene Barclay… I love the composition, with the photographer reflected in the chrome.

Photobucket
Photobucket

7 Responses to “Old Movies – Renewed Interest”

  1. TerrenceK June 16, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    I couldn’t see where to leave a comment on the other blog (with the film list). But even if you found DON’T BOTHER TO KNOCK dull, you gotta admit that Marilyn was pretty damn good as a woman unravelling.

    I really want to see all those old films you mentioned. Great blog & images (as always, you’re THE BEST)!!!

  2. stacilaynewilson June 16, 2010 at 10:52 PM #

    Thanks for checking out the other (new) blog. (I just knew I couldn’t keep everything strictly to fashion!) I disabled comments, because I don’t want to have to maintain it much… just want to have a spot to link to for certain things and special reviews. Anyway… YES, Marilyn looked stunning and was very good in Don’t Bother to Knock. But really, you should see Dangerous Passage – the woman’s unraveling isn’t as heavy (it’s more an Agatha Christie style mystery), but it’s similar in its limited sets, dialogue, etc. It’s a new favorite. A definite fave discovery I’ll not soon forget is Samuel Fuller’s Pickup on South Street… have you seen that one?

  3. TerrenceK June 16, 2010 at 11:07 PM #

    No, I haven’t seen it yet. I know of PICK UP ON SOUTH STREET from John via a Samuel Fuller Documentary that he posted clips of back on our myspace days.

    Speaking of Marilyn – I saw (I believe) a new box set for $50. I hope I can pick that up soon. It had DON’T BOTHER TO KNOCK, THE MISFITS and a whole bunch more. It resembled this out of print box set on Amazon (but the cover was different): http://www.amazon.com/Marilyn-The-Premiere-Collection/dp/B0030CRK4E/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1276758188&sr=1-6

  4. Peter June 17, 2010 at 6:43 AM #

    these olf movies are very sexy i think

  5. Pamela Mahabeer June 17, 2010 at 10:46 PM #

    SOOO much information as usual, Ms. Staci! Now, I must get “Dangerous Passage”….you uttered the magical words…Agatha Christie.

    I must also thank you for the most entertaining 2 hours and 5 minutes I spent tonight on Billy Wilder’s “The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes”. Awesome movie…can’t believe I could have missed this rendition of Holmes. What a clever plot and great writing…YOU’RE THE BEST!

    • stacilaynewilson June 18, 2010 at 11:26 AM #

      I’m so glad you liked it; I knew you would! That’s why the texting-fiend in me just had to let you know about the movie *while I was watching it*! Next up, we have to find The Seven Percent Solution. It’s not on DVD (as far as I know).

  6. Old Movies Online August 18, 2010 at 9:03 AM #

    Great site. It’s cool how you made it your own. Added your personal style to it. It’s amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

