Staci-Style Ready to Launch… Almost

21 Jul

As I mentioned awhile ago, I’ve got my Etsy Store all registered, plus a website for selling non-vintage clothing, bought a mannequin from Italy, got my logoed hang tags made, business cards, got all the boxes of old clothes from storage, took lot$ of thing$ to be drycleaned, and went through all three of my closets (and both chests of drawers) to see what I should sell.

Well, there is A LOT. I embarked on the huge project in doing a series of self portraits wearing everything I own… then revised a bit. Do I really need a photo of every single tee-shirt and pair of jeans I own? Are there enough hours to spare, for me to put on, photograph, and take off, and put on again ALL the patterned stockings and stuff I have? Probably not. So, I just hit the highlights with all the actual outfits: of course shirts and skirts, dresses and gowns, but also a few PJs and bikini’s — mostly vintage. A few things I did not find in storage are my mom’s baby-doll nighties from the 60s, and some authentic Victorian era jackets I bought at the Long Beach Swap Meet a long, long time ago.

I still have about one more day of shooting (after 5 days of Comic-Con craziness in San Diego for work), then I’ll take pictures of everything I’m selling (I have four boxes full, so far) on the mannequin and hopefully will be able to launch my stores by mid-August. I’m selling some of my mom’s sexy dresses from the 60s, some of my now-embarrassing 80s outfits, several things I always liked but that never fit me right, and a few brand-new with tags designer dresses (Michael Kors, Calvin Klein, Betsey Johnson) I snagged on the cheap.

Along the way, I encountered a bunch of pictures of me wearing the clothes “back in the day” when they weren’t vintage yet. Here is a bikini (Eugena) I’m wearing 20 summers ago, and yesterday. (I’m not thrilled about being two decades older, but I am happy I discovered scissors and self-tanner!)

eugena bikini

It’s in perfect condition, because I’ve only worn it twice for pictures! (I’m not brave enough to actually walk around in a bikini… if and when I swim, it’s in cutoffs and a shirt; if I bought a bathing suit, it’d be a one-piece, old 50s bombshell style. This bikini was given to me and it still has the $78 price tag on it.)

But wait… There’s more!
Photobucket

STACI-STYLE.COM

…will be its own separate entity, once I get the stores launched. For now, it just points here.

= = =

HERE ARE 4 OF THE DOZENS OF DRESSES I’LL BE SELLING

This is a 100% Silk Gown from China. I got it about 10 years ago, and only wore it a few times. I have lots of Chinese dresses I never wear.

chinese silk

Photobucket

This is a super-slinky, extra-sexy little black dress, short and backless. Very low cut. I always liked it, but never had the guts to wear it out. I should let someone who’s young enough to enjoy it, have at it.

little black dress

Photobucket

I got this shirt about 10 years ago, it’s a Betsey Johnson original with bell sleeves and has a very hippie, flowy vibe to it. It’s always been too big for me as a blouse, but too short as a dress… so it’s never quite worked for me.

bestsey johnson top

Photobucket

I got a lot of use out of this dress, but it’s still in perfect condition. It’s adorable, airy and comfy, but just too “cute” for my current taste.

pink and white dress

Photobucket

That’s it for now —! I’ll be posting more soon… lots of 60s, 70s and 80s ladies lingerie and fashion. Can’t wait to show you all!

13 Responses to “Staci-Style Ready to Launch… Almost”

  1. Terrence Kelsey July 21, 2010 at 9:21 PM #

    Congrats! I wish you much succe$$ on this endeavor!

    As for the bikinis – too bad you were never brave enough to wear them out in public. You looked great in them way back when and MOST DEFINITELY now!

    But I can relate to a degree. I won’t wear shorts in public, unless I’m at a swimming pool or a beach (both of which are extremely rare occasions when that happens).

    • Carrie July 22, 2010 at 4:51 AM #

      That’s right Terrance. You only wear white satan pajama bottoms when you ride that horse….backwards. ((swoon))

      • Terrence Kelsey July 22, 2010 at 7:45 AM #

        Haha! She said , “satan”! You know me all too well! Heh!

    • stacilaynewilson July 23, 2010 at 7:27 AM #

      Why not? For me, I always hated my white skin and freckles, and my thighs. (Still do, but now there’s bronzer and treadmill.)

      • Terrence Kelsey July 23, 2010 at 7:41 AM #

        I know this will sound “hella” silly coming from a dude, but I hate my “chicken legs”.

  2. Caroline July 21, 2010 at 10:12 PM #

    Very sexy and beautiful..

  3. stacilaynewilson July 21, 2010 at 10:19 PM #

    Thanks. Maybe I shouldn’t sell the bikini, so I can do this again in 20 years… Or not. Yeah, I’m thinking not! 😉

    • Carrie July 22, 2010 at 4:50 AM #

      Holy cow…I forgot how long your hair was.

      Man..you can relly tell who your mom is. sheeeeesh…

      Have a fun time this w/end and try to get a little rest. C~~
      And don’t sell the bikiini.

      • stacilaynewilson July 23, 2010 at 7:25 AM #

        My hair was sooooo long. Looks funny to me now, but I loved it then. Even a half inch trimming was traumatic! Times sure have changed (but I’m not going for the pixie cut just yet).

  4. Lilly Russell July 23, 2010 at 2:47 AM #

    I think that Betsy J shirt would look great with a pair of guess jeans or better Rockin Repub. When will you be selling them?

    • stacilaynewilson July 23, 2010 at 7:22 AM #

      Good call! I’m putting up about 100 items hopefully in mid-August. I’ll announce it here. You can get email updates to this blog. It’s easy, and you can do it as they’re posted, or just once a week.

  5. Alisa Burket July 29, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

    I’m very excited for this project! And actually…SCREW THE MANNEQUIN!!!! You should be the model for all the clothes!

  6. Staci Layne Wilson July 29, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

    Awww, that’s sweet! I could; I’ve certainly taken the pictures. But… I’m selling some of the stuff because it doesn’t look very good on me. Also, once thing I’ve noticed about myself is when looking at other people’s clothes for sale, I’m influenced by the model. There’s one in particular on eBay who looks so stoned, I’ve often wondered if the buyers get a contact high when they open the package! (Hm, maybe that is actually a selling point.)

Leave a Reply

