Fashion Photo Frenzy – Finito!

29 Jul

Photobucket

Yes! Feeling so accomplished. I worked till midnight and I finished my massive undertaking of photographing myself in EVERYTHING I own, from nightgowns to evening gowns, bikinis to business suits, and from mod minis to twill trench-coats (plus many, many things in-between).

I did two full days last week, then worked Comic-Con, and came back to the rest of the clothes, camera, and good old self-timer. There are over 1,000 images to go through — so, I’m not **really** done. Now that I have separated out every garment and accessory I am going to sell, even more work comes in the form of photographing those pieces on my mannequin and finally (yay!) launching my Etsy store.

I’ve been playing with the photos I took, just a little bit. I am going to post one of every single outfit in my personal Picasa album once I get everything organized, but I have a question: Should I post the pictures “as-is” or should I use the diffusion filter?
Photobucket
Photobucket

Plain (left) – Diffused (right)

= = =

Photobucket

Diffused (left) – Plain (right)

Photobucket

With the white, you can see the yellowy ivory of the satin and the lace detail better. I don’t see a lot of difference in the black fabric. The unvarnished photos do show the details of the clothes better and the colors are richer, but I think the diffusion makes the picture itself a lot prettier (and also nicely hides the closet door, where my framing was a little off).

Since the album of self-portraits is not meant to sell clothes (those pics will be on the mannequin, and posted to Etsy) — I’m thinking diffusion. Which do you prefer?

….

As people who know me are aware, I love self portraiture. Not just mine, but the whole concept in general. I won’t rehash my thoughts on that, but here’s a blog and my most-recent series for anyone who’s interested. My favorite self-portraits are by female artists — such as Leonor Fini, Frida Kahlo, and Floria Sigismondi. (Though Dali took some AWESOME self-portraits; his may actually be the best, overall.)

I have never undertaken anything like this, when it comes to self portraits though. Usually, they are just for fun with no real purpose. In this case, I wanted to document all my clothes, and it turned out to be more difficult than I’d anticipated. Now, of course I know I have a lot of clothes (some in storage unearthed for this, two chests of drawers full, two sides of a bedroom closet, and a very big antique armoire stuffed to capacity), but what I hadn’t figured on was not really having a “holding area” for the clothes. So, I just did them little by little, in sections, which meant towards the end of the shoot I would up with a lot of orphans — random shirt and skirts which don’t go together at all (but I’d already photographed the pieces they DO go with, and had put them away). As a result, there are a few bad apples in the bunch. Oh, well!

I am not proud of this, but I found out I still fit into the first bra I ever bought (at Bonnie’s Happy Look in Idyllwild, in 1980). And I am definitely not proud of this: I do not fit into my favorite little pair of size 0 tight jeans anymore. Just last year, they were snug but easy enough to hop into; now, I couldn’t even dream of wedging one thigh in. Time to go on a SERIOUS DIET and get back to my exercise routine (my abs and biceps are gone – sob!). All in all, it wasn’t too bad, though… out all the stuff I have, even things I wore as a teenager and 20s, there were only about 4 or 5 things that were impossible to even try.

It was truly fun for me to go back and revisit some of the outfits I have not donned since my days in the corporate work world — Ally McBeal power suits with should pads and miniskirts. They’re cool again, and they still fit, so maybe I’ll move one or two to the front of the closet. And then there are some gorgeous, beautiful, amazing things I have kept over the years but that either a) don’t fit me quite right, b) don’t go with anything, or c) that I just never wear… I keep thinking, “Someday, I’ll need that!”

But, a lot of things are going on the auction block. Some really stunning things, vintage stuff, even a few of my mom’s old dresses from 60s, one-offs, and designer labels. Can’t wait to get started. I’m really hoping my friends will help me spread the word; with a million other clothes-peddling sellers to compete with, reputation and recommendations will be what really makes or breaks Staci-Style.com

4 Responses to “Fashion Photo Frenzy – Finito!”

  1. Terrence Kelsey July 29, 2010 at 2:08 PM #

    Since this is for your personal photo albums, I voted “Diffuse”, though I do like the “Plain” detail shown on the white gown.

  2. Contemporary Paintings July 31, 2010 at 5:10 PM #

    I really like the detailing on the white gown as well. Great images!

  3. pexman August 6, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

    awsome models, i like verry much the second one

  4. Mitra September 11, 2010 at 1:00 PM #

    Nice blog

Leave a Reply

